Home / The Council



According to The Compass School’s charter, the council is responsible for ensuring that the school stays faithful to its mission and remains financially solvent. This role includes evaluating the director and business administrator, enhancing the public standing of the school and serving as the final court of appeals.  It operates like the board of a nonprofit corporation.


Council meetings are held monthly and posted beforehand.

Council Members

Each spring, the Council holds elections and at least one parent council position turns over.  Sometimes, people are willing to run for re-election and continue serving. Other times, we have a vacancy.  This is a democratic process.  Any parent can ask to be considered for a council position in one of the ‘parent’ seats and all families get one vote.  

The Council is comprised of up to nine voting members that represent the following constituencies:

Staff (3)

  • Elissa Crandall
  • Karen O’Malley
  • Nicole Salaun

Parents (3)

    • Rachel Axelson, President
    • Christine Skaggs, Vice President
  • Evan Preisser

Community (3)

  • Linsey Trombino, Secretary
  • Michelle Salisbury, Treasurer
  • Vacant

Council Committees

    • Development Committee 
    • Physical Environment/Site Committee
    • Learning Committee
    • Policy Committee

Council Meeting Minutes:

Please visit the Secretary of State website for all of our updated meeting agendas and minutes.